How to Ombre hair at home!

As autumn arrived I decided I wanted to switch up my hair again. I’ve finally found the orange of my dreams, but after several months of trying different oranges, I wanted to spice things up a little. What better way than to add a second colour into the mix!

After searching Pinterest for ideas I decided I wanted to try orange into red ombre but all the tutorials online were, well frankly, pretty technical! The majority of the information I found involved loads of different colours as well bleaching and that just wasn’t what I was looking to do!

I’ll admit I was pretty daunted by the whole thing, how to do it right, how to make sure it blended and how to make sure I didn’t end up with two solid blocks of colour; but I purchased the dyes anyway and set to work, hoping i’d figure it out as I went along!

I used Clairol’s Colour Crave in apricot and Bleach London in I Saw Red, then mixed a little bit of both together to make a shade to help blend the two colours together.

img_8321.png

First I applied the orange dye to my roots and two thirds of the length of my hair, then I took the red dye and starting at the very end of my hair, rubbed the red up the stands of hair; blending it into the orange and making sure to rub the dye together thoroughly where the two colours met.

Top Tips

  • When blending the colour, take the section of hair between two fingers as if you were straightening the hair and your fingers are the flat iron; that way you can spread the section out between your fingers and ensure that the dye blends on every single hair strand in that section.

  • Make sure you have a long tail comb, or something to section the hair whilst applying the bottom colour to ensure any dye on your gloves doesn’t get smudged off onto the top colour in unwanted places.

  • Whilst the dye is developing for however long the company instructs (usually around half an hour for bright colours) ensure that the hair is left down and not wrapped up, as wrapping it up may smudge all the colours together and you may loose the ombre effect.

It was 100x simpler than I had originally thought! I didn’t even use the mix of red and orange dye because blending the colours on my hair was much easier than I had anticipated!

Screen Shot 2017-10-13 at 20.51.11.png

I would absolutely recommend to any of your crazy colour lovers to give ombre a go at home! It’s no where near as complicated as some of the youtube videos or Pinterest tutorials make it out to be! Theres also the added bonus with washout dyes that if you don’t like it; you can just wash it all away within a few weeks!

 

Leave a comment