Trying Manic Panic for the First time

In the two years I’ve been dying my hair I’ve worked my way through a lot of different hair dye brands; but one brand I’ve never used was Manic Panic! As some of you will know, I am currently studying Journalism at university and my project last semester called for me to review something I had a lot of knowledge on; enter Manic Panic hair dye! 

I’ve interviewed several hundred crazy colour enthusiasts in recent years and so many of them told me of their love of Manic Panic, the original crazy colour dye that started the scene back in 1977.

The one thing that always put me off using Manic Panic is the staying power of their dye! Manic Panic can last up to six weeks, sometimes longer depending on your hair wash routine; and I like to be able to wash my colour out relatively easily and quickly. But I’d found my favourite shade of orange, it was time for something new! IMG_8961

I didn’t really like any of the on-the-shelf colours I was seeing; and if theres one thing you can do with Manic Panic, its creating a custom colour! So I took the plunge, committed to at least six weeks of a custom colour, and set to work researching what shades I wanted to mix up.

I knew I wanted to try a sort of Burgundy colour, but not the standard dark red, something that would still be bright and bold. The thing with mixing a colour, is you never quite know what you’ll get. Even though others may have mixed the same colours as you, the shade will vary depending on the amount of each colour you use and the colour your hair is before you apply the dye. Bye Bye ginge!

I purchased Manic Panic Vampire Red and Purple Haze, the darkest red and the darkest purple shade that had a red undertone (rather than a blue undertone, like the shade Ultra Violet).

I was fairly confident that equal amounts of the two colours mixed together would create the desired shade, but in the end, after multiple swatches of colour on paper towels; I used an entire pot of purple haze and about 2/3 of the vampire kiss.

The dye was easy to apply and the cream formula makes your hair feel really conditioned, the only downside to the application, is it can be quite messy. As with all the dyes I’ve tried and tested, Manic Panic is rinsed out with just water. As someone who lives mostly alone and doesn’t have a second pair of helping hands, I tend to wash dye out while in the shower, and boy does this colour get everywhere when you rinse in the shower!

So maybe take caution if you rinse your hair this way too!

A messy shower aside, the colour I achieved was perfect! The dye made my hair extra conditioned and extra shiny. The colour does last for at least a month before it begins to fade, however I did eventually notice my natural colour starting to poke through again so the stain left behind was barely noticeable and is probably very easy to correct if you tried to go back to your natural hair colour!

This colour was a great change for me, and I’ve never had so many compliments about my colour and the shine in my hair. I would highly recommend Manic Panic!

Leave a comment