Roaccutane Journey – Not over yet!

On the 28th August I took what I thought would be my last ever accutane pill. My skin was clear and glowing, in my mind the treatment had worked and my confidence was soaring!

On the 9th September I got my very first tiny pimple, and I mean tiny! It was pretty funny and I was elated at the idea that if I was going to get a spot from time to time that this would be what I was dealing with. I didn’t think much of it and carried on as normal.

Worlds smallest pimple! If only it had of stayed like that!

As December arrived I started to get a few more breakouts here and there, I put it down to needing to switch up my skincare routine, after all my skin had been through a lot that year and it was understandable that it was still settling down. I went to Body Shop and invested in some gentle products, anything with Aloe Vera in had to be mild and good for sensitive skin right?

Wrong! My skin started to break out worse than it had since I first started accutane. I put it down to maybe being allergic to something in the new cleanser despite how mild the ingredients were, so I went back out again and purchased a whole new skincare routine only using Simple products. I started drinking as much water as I could every day, trying to eat clean and praying my skin would improve.

By January I was starting to find any excuse I could to not believe the accutane hadn’t worked. I was stressed. I was probably hormonal. It was probably just my skin still settling. Maybe it was the water? Maybe there was too much of certain chemicals in the water? I was coming up with a new excuse daily, I was in complete denial.

On February 27th 2019 I found myself once again sitting in my doctors office discussing further acne treatment. The accutane had helped for sure, but my breakouts were getting progressively worse and I needed help.

I have limited treatment options now. The waiting list to get back onto accutane, to maybe try a second round, is around 5 months long, I was not getting an appointment soon that was for sure. So for now I’m back on antibiotics and topical gels to see if they will make any difference while I wait for a dermatology appointment to become available.

Any of you that have followed my accutane journey so far will know that in the beginning of my treatment there was such a lack of appointments that my dosage was having to be stretched and stretched to make a months worth of pills last around 6 weeks. At this point in time I am inclined to blame this for the fact one round of accutane hasn’t worked for me and although its not the hospitals fault that the NHS is currently underfunded (i wont be saying any more on that as this is not a political blog), in total honesty it doesn’t make me feel any less broken hearted that potentially this treatment could have worked for me if I’d been given the opportunity to use it to its best potential.

My confidence has taken another knock and my battle for good skin continues.

To follow my journey fighting acne click the follow button in the side bar which will notify you whenever I post! Be sure to check out my other posts to catch up on my acne journey so far by using the category folder in the side bar or my clicking the link below!

https://cloeastbury.wordpress.com/category/roaccutane-journey/

Leave a comment