Roaccutane Update – The end of my journey?

On the 9th of February I started my very first day on roaccutane. img_0414-e1533553568606.jpg
On the 20th July, after 6 and a half long long months, I finally took my last three pills and ended what has been an honestly life changing journey.

My final 6 weeks on roaccutane was drawn out and miserable. I had near constant headaches, my body ached, I felt sick if I sat in the sun (and the UK is having a heat wave so it was near impossible to avoid the sun if I needed to leave the house) the skin on the rest of my body began peeling worse than ever and on top of the peeling became extra sensitive to near enough any product I could use to help with hydration, causing me to come out in large, sometimes bleeding, patches of eczema.

 

The only thing keeping me going was counting down the days on my calendar until it was all over!

That day was two weeks ago, and in the last two weeks the changes in my body have been incredible. You can see in my last roaccutane update (linked below) that my skin was red and blotchy on my face where it was dry and peeling, now my skin is clear! 100% clear!

https://cloeastbury.wordpress.com/2018/06/05/roaccutane-update-month-3-5/

The treatment so far appears to have worked, though I am not naive enough to settle comfortably into the idea that I am cured, not just yet anyway! But only time will tell and for now I am happy!

Every day a little more redness fades and fewer and fewer scars are visible allowing me to easily cover them with a medium coverage foundation.

The eczema cleared up almost as soon as I stopped taking the roaccutane much to my relief and my skin has now stopped peeling too! Every day I get a little closer to having my lips back to normal! I’m not quite there, but I can confidently go days at a time without needing lip balm now, not that I do because that isn’t exactly going to help me restore the moisture, but if necessary, I wouldn’t be in pain without it now.

Slowly a little bit at a time my body is starting to restore its natural oils, I feel a lot less like a grannie with old bones already and my skin is starting to look less scaley and much more smooth. I will be posting an updated skincare routine soon with all the fun products I’m now able to use now my skins sensitivity isn’t as severe as it has been! Man it feels good to use a scented shower gel and moisturiser again.

I’d like to finish this post by saying to any of you out there that want to start roaccutane, are about to start it, or that are on your journey now and praying that its all worth it, believe me, it is worth it! Ive never been happier and more confident in my life, my skin is glowing and I can’t stop smiling!

 

Please drop any questions in the comments below and feel free to send me suggestions of content you’d like to see on my blog! Subscribe for email updates when I post and heck out the rest of my roaccutane/skincare content in the categories lists to the right hand side of this page!

Thank you for reading! 

Leave a comment