Starting Doxycycline for the second time and trying Differin Gel for acne

In 2017 I tried my first course of Doxycycline, an antibiotic commonly used to treat acne. At the time it was simply no where near strong enough to treat my acne and although it did help for a short time, the relief was very temporary.

I’ll admit to being hesitant to try using it again, my recollections of the antibiotic are predominantly of itchy rashes and limited results. However, my doctor has suggested that following my accutane treatment, as my skin is considerably better than it was the first time i tried doxycycline, i might be more sensitive to drug and it may help much more than it did before.

Potentially this course of antibiotics combined with the use of the Differin gel may actually work as a post treatment to the accutane and may avoid me having to go through a second course of accutane.

As with all my treatments, I will be documenting my progress here every few weeks and showing all sides of the treatment from any good results to the possible ugly side effects!

I’m two weeks into treatment now so it’s a little early to say if its had much effect. I learnt the hard way a few days you MUST take this pill with a big meal. Do not take this pill without food, and not just a snack, a full meal! It will make you queazy and you will end up vomiting.

I will, however, say that the Differin gel really does seem to have had an impact. I’m unsure as to how long this will last and it’s not preventing breakouts, but it has for sure helped to tackle breakouts I already had! Check out the pictures below and leave a comment letting me know what you think, do you guys think the Differin is helping or am I just getting drawn in by a placebo effect because I really really want this to work?

One thought on “Starting Doxycycline for the second time and trying Differin Gel for acne

Leave a comment