Trying the new Clairol Color Crave

In my never ending quest for the perfect shade of orange hair; here we are again! With more and more available wash out dyes on the market, it would be rude not to try them all, right?

I’ll be honest when I see Clairol, the brand name usually triggers memories of being a kid and seeing my mom dyeing her hair various shades of brown; I never expected them to go down the line of wash out dyes, and was admittedly a little sceptical at first.

But in my mission to try all wash out dyes, here I am!

The box reads semi-perminant but says it only lasts 15 washes; so I’d personally still class this as a wash out dye. Unlike the Bleach London collections, this collection is just beginning and only boasts six shades to choose from at the moment; however it does also  say it will produce bright bold colour on bleached hair, blonde hair and brunettes! I don’t have dark hair but dark haired ladies, this dye might be worth a shot for you if you’re trying to avoid bleaching!

img_8050.jpg

The method is pretty simple, wash and towel dry the hair, apply the product with hands or the provided brush, wait 20-30 minutes, then rinse out. The instruction booklet has detailed methods for creating things such as ombre and rainbow streaks through hair so I imagine the intended purpose of this dye isn’t to go all over your hair but this does also mean there isn’t an awful lot of product for the price!

When I opened the box I’ll admit I was a little disappointed to find such a small tube of dye compared to the size of the box, I felt a little misled. One box just about covered my hair when applied sparingly, however ladies or gents with longer hair; you may need several tubes to cover your whole head if thats the look you’re going for.

IMG_8051

On the plus side, you are supplied with a brush to apply the dye, as well as two pairs of gloves, meaning that for none confident dyers, you can always get a friend over to help you and theres no need to stain your fingers!

IMG_8052.JPG

Also I noticed when I first emptied the dye into my bowl, the dye is actually shimmery! I thought I was going mad, but no, the dye really does have shimmer pigments in it! After applying and letting the dye sit for half an hour I went into the bathroom to wash the dye out and my entire head was shimmering in the bathroom lights! It doesn’t make any difference to the overall result, but who am I to complain about having shimmery hair for half an hour!

IMG_8056

The overall result looks great! The colour is bold and bright and actually stayed orange rather than going vertically red when first applied! The colour has given my hair a fantastic shine and is holding up pretty well too, I’m writing this a week after first dyeing my hair and the colour is still going strong!

IMG_8162

Leave a comment